Cookie #2: Cook’s Illustrated Thick & Chewy

IMG_4062

Cue sad trombone…

Started at the top and now I’m… here.  At least this cookie didn’t take very long to make.  I’m such a fan of BrownEyedBaker, that I decided to try her favorite CCC, despite my hesitation about the lack of dough chill time.   Prep time was 10 minutes, tops – and most of that was waiting for the butter to cool.  Yep, it uses melted butter.  And the dough is really wet, causing these cookies to spread a lot (thus laying waste to the promise of “thick” cookies).  And the oven temp was only 325, which is why these things are so pale — the cookies didn’t even have a shot of caramelizing.  I held out hope, though, because BEB’s photos were so tantalizing (and golden brown), so the chips melted and lost all shape.

Speaking of chips, I used my specially-ordered Scharffen Berger semisweet baking chunks in these.  They arrived in layers of styrofoam and ice, and it was an exciting package to get!

Shipped from outer space!

Shipped from outer space!

But alas, I put them into a failure of a cookie.  And the bags are only 6 oz. (1 cup of chocolate chunks), so they’ll be gone in no time at all.  I want to try them in a better cookie, because so far, the Ghirardelli 60% Chocolate Chips (which I used in the NYT/Jacques Torres cookie) are winning, and they’re locally available.

What did I learn?

  • When it comes to butter, creamed > melted
  • A stiff dough lends itself to a taller cookie
  • Thoroughly chilled dough is key!
  • Oven temp must exceed 325
Leave a Reply

